Winter Break Deals

One of my favorite parts of coming home for winter break (besides seeing my family/friends and eating my mom’s cooking) is shopping as much as I want. I don’t have a car at school, and don’t have a lot of time, so I don’t shop a lot.  Don’t get the wrong idea. Me shopping is 90% of the time just looking at what a store has–I’m a cheapskate, I don’t like to buy things. As I texted my friend earlier today: I don’t buy anything for myself over $25 (unless it’s an amazing, investment piece bargain).

My brother and I had a disagreement at Christmas dinner over where one gets the best deals. I firmly believe that in-store, in person shopping yields the best results. You just don’t get those random, 80% off finds online. Viva la mall! This post is an illustration of the superior deals at the physical store.

Yesterday my mom and I were doing a little shopping, and happened to stop at a DSW. I had texted the same friend the day before that I wanted a “dope pair of heels” (Parks and Recreations reference), so that was what  I was on the lookout for when I headed straight for the clearance section.

I found these at 80% off. They’re BCBG Paris, which I think is the shoe equivalent of BCBG Generation? Regardless it’s one of the cheaper BCBG lines. I’m obsessed with wedges, I think they’re so much tougher than a stiletto, so these will be worn often in the spring/summer to class and for going out. They were originally $69.94 at DSW (compare at $89.00) and I got them for $14.90, including tax.

Today my mom and I had lunch and went to this outdoor shopping center that’s a little further away from our house that we both like a lot (to0 bad it was raining/snowing). Obviously we hit up the DSW there as well. I’m not even that much of a shoe fanatic (I have way more pairs than I need, as the majority of the shoes I own I don’t wear anymore), but like I said, I love wedges, and I love a good deal.

These are more of a casual sandal/wedge. They’ll be perfect with a pair of loose fitting, lightweight khakis that I wear to class. The wedge is only like an inch and a half. These are SE Boutique, which is some lower price point line from Sam Edelman that I hadn’t heard of until today. They were also originally $69. 94 and I again got them for $14.90.

These shoes are a replacement pair for a very similar pair of wedges I got for like $5 from Target back in my Sophomore year of high school. I’ve worn them constantly for the last couple of years during the spring and fall, and the faux suede wedge of the shoe has gotten pretty grimy. I would get the kork ease that both shoes are ripping off, but I don’t want to drop $150. I don’t like these quite as much, but they are a better shoe, so hopefully they’ll last longer. Plus, they fit right into the 70s aesthetic that I’m a huge fan of. And they were only like $15.50 My mom bought them for me so I’m not sure of the price. Thanks, Mom!

Three new pairs of wedges, for under $45.

Leave a comment